TTT-Books to Read If You Love/Loved X

Well hello, beautiful humans! I am currently sitting here with my cup of tea listening to YouTube videos trying to figure out how to write this topic. Why? Because I’m terrible at book recs. Friends ask for recs and I give the same five recommendations every time.

It’s probably five.

I’m so gonna fail at the “Ten” part of “Top Ten Tuesday” this week.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl and originally created by The Broke and the Bookish.

If You Love Sherlock Holmes You May Like The Affair of the Mysterious Letter by Alexis Hall

This one is kind of cheating, but I feel that not enough people talk about this glorious tome. This book is directly inspired by Sherlock Holmes. In fact, the main character is Sherlock Holmes if Sherlock Holmes was a woman…and a sorceress. It was so good. And it has queer rep in it! It really is a fabulous book.

If You Love Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson You May Like X-Men: The Age of Apocalypse Omnibus

And if you like Mistborn you may like AOA. Both deal with what happens when the world is ruled by an all-powerful seemingly immortal tyrant and the rag-tag group of rebels that try and overthrow him. Age of Apocalypse came out 26 years ago, and I picked up every single issue of that series. I absolutely loved it. Keep in mind, AOA is a comic book epic that sprawled at least 5 different titles, so it does take a while to read, but it’s worth it. Mistborn is a wonderful fantasy epic that has three books…that I haven’t finished yet. But I will for sure finish reading it…eventually.

If You Love The Pendragon Cycle by Stephen Lawhead You May Like The Perilous Order of Camelot by A.A. Attanasio

Both of these Arthurian retellings are amazing. If you have read one and not the other, I highly suggest you pick up the one you haven’t read. The Perilous Order of Camelot is a little darker than The Pendragon Cycle, but it is so good. I mean, it starts with the creation of the universe! What a crazy and amazing way to start a story about King Arthur!

If You Love The Gilmore Girls You May Like Payback’s A Witch by Lana Harper

So I had to think real hard about this one because it was a toss-up between Payback’s a Witch and The Ex Hex by Erin Sterling, and Payback won out. The reason it won is that I could just see Emmy being like Rory and being pulled into all the town events, even against her will. Which, let’s be honest, does kind of happen to both of them. But both have that “small-town girl with big city dreams” vibes. The biggest difference is that Payback’s a Witch has positive queer rep, which we love to see. Oh, and witches.

If You Love A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin You May Like Crown of Stars by Kate Elliot

These two book series started coming out right around the same time, but only one of them is finished. That’s a not-so-subtle dig there. The Crown of Stars series is a sprawling epic where, just like in A Song of Ice and Fire, no one is safe.

If You Love Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris You May Like Mercy Thompson by Patricia Briggs

Okay, so hear me out. I know both of these heroines are very different. Sookie likes to think of herself as a southern lady and Mercy, well, isn’t. But both involve some pretty decent (and multiple) love interests, supernatural creatures, unknown family history, and both have resolved (eventually) those love interests. Also, both of them have quite a few books in their respective series, so you’ll have plenty to read.

And here is where I lost, well, me. My brain short-circuited at about this point and I never could get the recommending mojo back. I was worried that would happen.

So did I fail this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. Yes, absolutely. But was I going to miss the chance to talk about some of my favorite books? Absolutely not.

3 thoughts on “TTT-Books to Read If You Love/Loved X

  1. The only ones of these I’ve read are George Martin and Kate Elliott. I loved the Song of Ice and Fire but I really couldn’t get into the King’s Dragon books. So for me, both series are unfinished although one is by my choice😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s